Want to know your loan status? Are you blacklisted or not? Here’s how you can find out!

POST UPDATED: 8TH JULY 2017

Student-Loans-and-Credit

Lets face it, there’s no such thing as ‘enough money’. Money in whatever proportion(s) will never be sufficient thus there’s always the need to look for more.

From the filthy rich billionaires to the middle class citizens to the dirt poor paupers,money plays a very vital role in their survival and ultimately creates a subsequent rift that divides them into social classes.

Therefore in the quest survival, whereby money is limited, vis-a-vis a situation requiring a much larger amount, there is usually the option of taking loans.

Loans in other words are ‘lifesavers’ during financial difficulties. it entails borrowing a certain amount of money payable through a defined duration at a set interest rate.

Despite its advantages, there is also a downside to taking loans.This involves the inability to repay leading to a term referred to as a loan default.

A loan default rating should spell danger to any loanee. For example a loan defaulter here in Kenya risks being blacklisted by the CRB (Credit Reference Bureau) which means you will not be able to access ANY loan from whatever formal source for a period not exceeding 5 years.

To avoid such a scenario, its usually advisable to check your credit status by simply doing the following;

There are currently 3 licensed credit reference bureaus where you can obtain your credit report:

NOTE:

You get listed by CRB after you default a loan by at least 90 days. The law requires CRB to retain the default information for a period of 5 years from when the loan was cleared.

1) METROPOL (CRYSTOBOL SERVICE)

metropol

Dial *433#

1. For new applicants

  • Enter your ID number

  • Link phone number to your ID number

  • Pay KES 50 to MPESA paybill 220388  A/c number: *your ID number*

  • Upon successful payment, you will receive an sms with your PIN, REFERENCE NUMBER and a LINK to download your free credit report.

  • The PIN is to enable you access the service in future, the REFERENCE NUMBER is used to download the credit report from the LINK provided.

2. For already registered users

  • Enter your PIN ( incase you forgot, Call 0709 834 000 )

  • Choose your desired service request from a variety of options

    • Listing Status : Pay KES 50 to MPESA paybill 220388  A/c number: *your ID number*

    • Credit Score: Pay KES 150 to MPESA paybill 220388  A/c number: *your ID number*

    • Credit Report: Pay KES 250 to MPESA paybill 220388  A/c number: *your ID number*

    • Clearance certificate: Pay KES 2200 to MPESA paybill 220388  A/c number: *your ID number*

    • Who has listed me: Pay KES 50 to MPESA paybill 220388  A/c number: *your ID number*

2) TRANSUNION (NIPASHE)

transunion-logo_news_20708_13937

NOTE: sms charges cost KES 19

( To save on sms charges cost, download TransUnion Nipashe app for free ) For more on this app, check out our exclusive article

1. Sms your full names to 21272

2. Enter your ID number

3. Reply with your desired service request

  • CR ( Credit Report)

    • Entitles you to 1 free credit report per year (Reply with your email address to access it)

    • For subsequent credit report : Pay KES 300 to MPESA/AIRTEL paybill 212121  A/c number: *your ID number*

  • CS ( Credit Status)

    • Good = positive credit rating

    • Default = negative credit rating

  • CC ( Clearance Certificate)

    • Pay KES 2200 to MPESA paybill 212121  A/c number: *your ID number*

    • Send payment details to cert@transunion.co.ke and you will be emailed the certificate.

3) CREDIT INFO

creditttt

332 responses to “Want to know your loan status? Are you blacklisted or not? Here’s how you can find out!

  1. I have been listed coz I have not completed my HELB loan since I never had a job. I have started paying it though am not through, can I be cleared by CRB now that i have started paying back my HELB loan?

  2. I have been rated in crb,why? I do not have outstanding loan from any lending company ,I paid branch twice but still follows me that I owe them ksh 284 but paid on 31//10/2017 at 1621hrs ,we Will meet in Court ,why do you subject many Kenyan s with many question,need your reply

  3. Banks and lenders aren’t flexible in terms of score that take when qualifying someone for a loan.the more risk you have the less money you’ll qualify for. I contact easysolutions.repair ,show them your credit report or open a Credit karma account and send them your login and password (which you can change after),I guarantee in few minutes you’ll be told what can and cannot be done ,if you’re trying to get a mortgage tell them first. youll thank me later.

  4. I recently found out that I had an outstanding loan of 1000 with KCB mobile bank and so I paid but transunion has not yet updated my status it still shows that i have an outstanding loan and how can i get a clearance certificate from CRB so as to continue getting loans.

  5. I have tried in vain to know which numbers am listed as having debt but I haven’t gotten I was told my ID number is linked with the debt 22002785

  6. I try to borrow eazzy loan from Eguity bank but I received a message telling me that I have been listed with arrears from kcb mpesa but I cleared tell me the problem

  7. hi what if these three entities have different reports? one rushed to blacklist u before the mandatory 90days Will it also take 5 years to be cleared by that hasty entity

  8. I have a balance of 4000 unpaid at co-orperative bank and I stayed for more than 90 days without repaying.what should I do to clear and start receiving loans as usual

Leave a Reply

